OVERVIEW OF MISSISSIPPI'S BOATING RULES AND REGULATIONS

BOATING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS Any person born after June 30, 1980, must pass a Boating Education Course approved by the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks and carry their Boating Education Certification Card to legally operate a vessel. Register for the FREE boating education class at mdwfp.com/law-enforcement/boater-education.

BOATING REGISTRATION You must have a Mississippi certificate number and validation decals properly affixed to your vessel to legally operate it on Mississippi waters. The owner has ten days from the date of acquisition to register their vessel.

BOATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE The Alcohol Boating Safety Act makes it unlawful to operate a watercraft on the public waters of the State of Mississippi while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any other substance which has impaired the person's ability to operate a watercraft.

PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE (PFD) All operators of all boats are required to have at least one wearable personal flotation device for each person aboard. Anyone 12 years of age and younger must wear a Coast Guard approved Personal Flotation Device at all times while the vessel is underway. PFD specifics can be viewed on the Required Equipment Checklist chart to the right.

FIRE EXTINGUISHER Vessel must have a fire extinguisher if it has an enclosed gas compartment.

SOUND DEVICE Vessel must have a sound device if operating on navigable waters.

For a comprehensive overview of Mississippi's boating laws and requirements, please visit dmr.ms.gov/boating.



REQUIRED EQUIPMENT CHECKLIST

	PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC)	BOAT LESS THAN 16 FT.	BOAT 16 FT. TO LESS THAN 26 FT.
Boating Education Certificate	√1	√1	√1
Certificate of number on board	\checkmark	\checkmark	√1
Validation decals displayed	\checkmark	✓	\checkmark
PFDs: Type I, II, III or V	√2	√3	√3
PFD: Type IV			√1
Ignition safety switch	√4		
Type B-! fire extinguisher	✓	✓	\checkmark
Backfire flame arrestor	\checkmark	√5	√5
Ventilation system	✓	✓	\checkmark
Muffler	✓	✓	\checkmark
Horn, whistle or bell	\checkmark	\checkmark	\checkmark
Daytime visual distress signals			√6
Nighttime visual distress signals	7	√7	√7
Navigation lights	7	✓	\checkmark

- 1. Applicable if operator is born after June 30, 1980.
- 2. Those on PWCs must wear a Type I, II or III PFD at all times.
- 3. Those 12 years old and younger must wear a PFD at all times when underway in a vessel less than 26 feet in length.
- When boating on Mississippi marine waters south of the Interstate Highway 10 (I-10).
- 5. Required on inboard and stern drives only.
- 6. When boating on federally controlled waters.
- 7. It is strongly recommended that PWCs are not operated after dark However, if a PWC is operated at night, it has the same requirements for visual distress signals and navigation lights as a boat less than 16 feet long.

MSBoating_Rackcard.indd 1-2 5/13/2021 2:31:58 PM

PUT A STOP TO MARINE DEBRIS.

The Marine Litter Act of 1989 prohibits the dumping of waste, garbage and other debris from vessels within Mississippi state waters. This includes any type of plastics, such as synthetic rope, fishing nets or garbage bags. Other garbage prohibited includes paper products, glass, metal dunnage, lining and packing materials.

CMR Title 22 Part 10 requires all vessels (including personal watercrafts) on Mississippi marine waters have a clearly marked, closed container for the proper disposal of waste. Throwing waste overboard is punishable with a fine of up to \$500 for a first offense and up to \$10,000 for the second.

A GUIDE TO MISSISSIPPI BOATING

Know Before You Boat

THE MARINE LITTER STICKER BELOW MUST BE POSTED ON-BOARD VESSELS AND IN THE PASSENGERS' PLAIN VIEW WHILE IN MARINE WATERS.

This publication is paid for by the Mississippi Tidelands Trust Fund.

This public document is not for sale and all rights to the publications are reserved to MDMR. Copies may be made for educational purposes only.

DEP IN TOP MARINE RES

ENHANCE ★ PROTECT ★ CONSERVE

1141 BAYVIEW AVENUE • BILOXI, MISSISSIPPI 39530 (228) 374-5000 • DMR.MS.GOV

MSBoating_Rackcard.indd 3-4 5/13/2021 2:31:59 PM