Vernon Asper Resigns from CMR after 19 Years

13-81-CWS | July 3, 2013

BILOXI, Miss. – Dr. Vernon Asper announced Wednesday that he is resigning after serving 19 years on the Commission on Marine Resources.


Jamie Miller, executive director of the Department of Marine Resources, said Asper’s service has been beneficial to DMR over the years.


“I would like to thank Dr. Asper for his 19 years of service with the Commission on Marine Resources. His leadership has been invaluable to the Commission and the Agency, and we will miss his hard work and dedication.”


Jimmy Taylor, who currently is vice chairman of the Commission, will take over as chairman.


“The members of the Commission have enjoyed working with Dr. Asper over the past 19 years,” Taylor said. “His knowledge and expertise have made us all better Commissioners,  and we appreciate his service.”


Mississippi’s governor appoints the five-member Commission to four-year terms, with representatives from the Charter Boat, Commercial Fishing, Recreational Sports Fishing and Commercial Seafood Processing industries, as well as a member of an incorporated nonprofit environmental organization. The Senate must confirm the appointments.


Gov. Phil Bryant will appoint someone to take over for Asper, whose current term expires June 30, 2014.


According to state statute, no more than two members can be from any one coastal county. Currently, there are two members from Harrison County and two members from Jackson County and one from Hancock County.


The Mississippi Department of Marine Resources is dedicated to enhancing, protecting and conserving marine interests of the state by managing all marine life, public trust wetlands, adjacent uplands and waterfront areas to provide for the optimal commercial, recreational, educational and economic uses of these resources consistent with environmental concerns and social changes. Visit the DMR online at


Contact: Melissa Scallan
Phone: 228-523-4124